Recent Events

Thu May 16, 2024–Fri May 17, 2024
Howison Library
8 AM–6 PM
Conference
Sara Aronowitz, Jennifer Carr, Thomas Icard, Michael Rescorla, David Thorstad, Francesca Zaffora Blando
Berkeley Bounded Rationality Workshop
Sat May 11, 2024
Faculty Glade at the Faculty Club
4–6 PM
Departmental Events
Philosophy Department Graduation
Fri Apr 26, 2024
Toll Room, Alumni House
4–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Rachel Barney, Adam Gopnik, Rachana Kamtekar, Alexander Nehamas, and Christine Korsgaard
The Authority of Craft, Seminar and Discussion with the Commentators
Fri Apr 26, 2024
Evans 60
4–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Sergei Artemov
The Provability of Consistency
Thu Apr 25, 2024
Toll Room, Alumni House
4–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Rachel Barney, Alexander Nehamas, Christine Korsgaard
The Authority of Craft, Lecture II–Craft, Métier, Utopia
Thu Apr 25, 2024
Dennes Room (Philosophy 234)
2–4 PM
Note special time
Working Group in the History and Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Science
Sergei Artemov (CUNY Graduate Center)
Two Models of Provability
Wed Apr 24, 2024
Toll Room, Alumni House
4–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Rachel Barney, Adam Gopnik, Rachana Kamtekar
The Authority of Craft, Lecture I–The End of Craft
Fri Apr 19, 2024
60 Evans
4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Giovanni Sambin (Università di Padova)
Positive Topology. A New Practice in Constructive Mathematics
Thu Apr 18, 2024
Warren Room, Berkeley Law
4–6 PM
Kadish Lecture
David Garland (NYU Law and Sociology)
A Theory of American Penal Exceptionalism
Mon Apr 15, 2024
Philosophy 301
1:15–2:15 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Snow Zhang
Fri Apr 12, 2024
Evans 60
4–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Martin Zeman (UC Irvine)
Games with filters, strong ideals, and iterated club shooting
Fri Apr 12, 2024
Law Building 141
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Jan Engelmann (Psychology, Berkeley)
Social Interaction Explains the Development of Uniquely Human Cognition
Fri Apr 5, 2024
Law Building 141
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Terrence Deacon (Anthropology, Berkeley)
On Human (Symbolic) Nature: How the Word Became Flesh
Wed Apr 3, 2024
Philosophy 301
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Geoff Lee
Tue Mar 26, 2024
Dennes Room (Philosophy 234)
9 AM–5 PM
Departmental Events
Workshop on Rationality and Reality
Fri Mar 22, 2024
Law Building 141
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Richard Tuck (Government, Harvard)
Hobbes and Weber on the Jury
Fri Mar 15, 2024
Howison Library
4–6:15 PM
Townsend Visitor
Jenann Ismael (Johns Hopkins University)
General Discussion
Fri Mar 15, 2024
Evans 60
4–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Tom Benhamou (Rutgers)
Commutativity of cofinal types of ultrafilters
Fri Mar 15, 2024
Law Building 141
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Deborah Hellman & Lily Hu (Virginia Law & Yale Philosophy)
Algorithmic Fairness
Thu Mar 14, 2024
Howison Library
4–6:15 PM
Townsend Visitor
Jenann Ismael (Johns Hopkins University)
Quantum Mechanics: A Participatory Universe in a Realist Mode
Tue Mar 12, 2024
Howison Library
4–6:15 PM
Townsend Visitor
Jenann Ismael (Johns Hopkins University)
Agency: Laplace Meets Gödel
Mon Mar 11, 2024
Howison Library
4–6:15 PM
Townsend Visitor
Jenann Ismael (Johns Hopkins University)
Time: The Arrow Most Difficult to Comprehend
Fri Mar 8, 2024
Law Building 141
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Sydney Levine (Psychology, Allen Institute)
Resource-Rational Contractualism: A Triple Theory of Moral Cognition
Thu Mar 7, 2024
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
John Carriero
Spinoza and Our Ontological Demotion
Fri Mar 1, 2024
Evans 60
4–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Mariana Vicaría (UCLA)
Model theory of valued fields
Fri Mar 1, 2024
Law Building 141
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Yoshua Bengio (Cognitive Science, Montréal)
Sources of Richness and Ineffability for Phenomenally Conscious States
Fri Feb 23, 2024
Law Building 141
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Michael Tomasello (Psychology and Neuroscience, Duke)
How to Build a Normative Creature
Fri Feb 16, 2024
Evans 60
4–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Jing Zhang (University of Toronto)
The strengths and weaknesses of the second uncountable cardinal
Fri Feb 16, 2024
Law Building 141
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Josh Tenenbaum & Laura Schulz (Cognitive Science, MIT)
Principles of Intelligence
Fri Feb 9, 2024
Law Building 141
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Alison Gopnik (Psychology, Berkeley)
Transmission Versus Truth, Imitation Versus Innovation: What Children Can Do That Large Language and Language-and-Vision Models Cannot (Yet)
Thu Feb 8, 2024
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Rachel Barney
The Ethics and Politics of Plato’s Noble Lie
Wed Feb 7, 2024
Philosophy 234
6–8 PM
Working Group in the History and Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Science
Matthew Mandelkern (NYU)
The Logic of Sequences
Mon Feb 5, 2024
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
James Allen
Aristotle on the relation between Dialectic & Philosophy
Fri Feb 2, 2024
Evans 60
4–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Paulo Mancosu and Guillaume Massas (Berkeley)
Totality, Regularity and Cardinality in Probability Theory
Fri Feb 2, 2024
Law Building 141
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Melanie Mitchell (Cognitive Science, Santa Fe Institute)
The Debate Over Understanding in AI’s Large Language Models
Thu Feb 1, 2024
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Marko Malink
The Metaphysical Basis of Aristotle’s Logic
Wed Jan 31, 2024
Berkeley Way West, Room 8034
10 AM–3 PM
Conference
Ashish Goel, Paul Gölz, Wesley Holliday, Zoi Terzopoulou
Interdisciplinary Workshop on Computational Social Choice
Mon Jan 29, 2024
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Sam Meister
What Is the Purpose of Aristotle’s Theology?
Fri Jan 26, 2024
Law Building 141
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Jessika Riskin (History of Science, Stanford)
Intelligence vs Reductionism
Thu Jan 25, 2024
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Lea Schroeder
A puzzle about sight in Plato’s Timaeus
Tue Jan 23, 2024
Howison Library
6–7:30 PM
Undergraduate Philosophy Event
Ruth Chang
A puzzle concerning human agency
Mon Jan 22, 2024
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Allison Piñeros-Glasscock
To Benefit or Succeed: A Tension in Stoic Ethics
Fri Jan 19, 2024
4–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Lenore Blum (Berkeley)
A Theoretical Computer Science Perspective on Consciousness and Artificial General Intelligence
Fri Jan 19, 2024
Law Building 141
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Ruth Chang (Oxford)
Does AI Design Rest on a Mistake?
Fri Dec 8, 2023
Evans 60
4–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
John Wright (UC Berkeley)
Nonlocal games, MIP* = RE, and the Connes Embedding Problem
Fri Dec 1, 2023
12:15–2:30 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Murad Idris (University of Michigan)
Re-Orienting Luther: Soldiers, Missionaries, and Second-Comings
Thu Nov 30, 2023
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Joseph Kassman-Tod (UC Berkeley)
Aesthetic Humility as ‘Remembrance’: A Critical Virtue
Mon Nov 20, 2023
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Ezra Rubenstein
Fri Nov 17, 2023
Evans 60
4–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Alexander Kechris (Caltech)
The compact action realization problem
Fri Nov 17, 2023
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Bryan Garsten (Yale University)
Thu Nov 16, 2023
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Guillaume Massas (UC Berkeley)
Galileo’s Paradox and a Fork in the Road Not Taken
Thu Nov 9, 2023
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Béatrice Longuenesse (NYU)
Conflicting logics of the mind: Lessons from Kant and Freud
Wed Nov 8, 2023
Alumni House
4:10–6:15 PM
Howison Lectures in Philosophy
Béatrice Longuenesse (NYU)
Self-Consciousness and ‘I’ – Anscombe and Sartre in Dialogue
Fri Nov 3, 2023
Evans 60
4–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Meng-Che "Turbo" Ho (California State University Northridge)
Word problems of groups as ceers
Fri Nov 3, 2023
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Eric Nelson (Government, Harvard University)
Fri Oct 27, 2023
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Shannon Stimson (Government, Georgetown University)
‘A New Instrument of Government’: Sir William Petty and the Fiscal Constitution of Restoration England
Fri Oct 20, 2023
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Melvin Rogers (Brown University)
The Darkened Light of Faith: An Introduction
Thu Oct 19, 2023
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Thomas Icard (Stanford University)
What are cognitive costs?
Fri Oct 13, 2023
Evans 60
4–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Valeria de Paiva (Topos Institute)
War Time Proofs and Futuristic Programs
Fri Oct 13, 2023
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Susanne Sreedhar (Boston University)
Thomas Hobbes on Sex Difference and Gender Equality