The Dennes Room

Recent Events

Fri Mar 20, 2020
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Sophia Moreau (Toronto Law & Philosophy)
Mon Mar 16, 2020–Fri Mar 20, 2020
Weinstein Fellow
Sophia Moreau (University of Toronto)
Fri Mar 13, 2020
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Enrico Moretti (Berkeley Economics)
Fri Mar 6, 2020
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Nam Trang (UC Irvine)
The Strength of Hom_\infty Sealing
Fri Mar 6, 2020
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
David Grewal (Berkeley Law)
Fri Feb 28, 2020
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Steven Vogel (Berkeley Political Science)
Thu Feb 27, 2020
4–6 PM
Undergraduate Reception / Berkeley Connect Study Break
Thu Feb 27, 2020
4–5:30 PM
Seminar in Philosophy, Politics, and History
Kaspar Villadsen (Copenhagen Business School, Denmark)
The Eye of Technology: Heidegger and Foucault
Fri Feb 21, 2020
4:10–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Rohan French (UC Davis)
First Steps in a Theory of Metainferences
Fri Feb 21, 2020
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Rohan French (UC Davis)
First Steps in a Theory of Metainferences
Fri Feb 21, 2020
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Stefan Eich (Georgetown Political Science)
Fri Feb 14, 2020
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Isabelle Ferreras (Harvard Labor & Worklife Program)
Thu Feb 13, 2020
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Tamar Lando
The Content of Indexical Belief
Thu Feb 13, 2020
4–6 PM
Kadish Lecture
Anthony Duff
Mon Feb 10, 2020
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4:10–6:10 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Jed Lewinsohn
Terms of Service: Two Conceptions of Exchange
Fri Feb 7, 2020
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Erik Walsberg (UC Irvine)
First order expansions of (R,<,+)
Fri Feb 7, 2020
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Aziz Rana (Cornell Law)
Thu Feb 6, 2020
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Johann Frick
Dilemmas, Luck, and the Two Faces of Morality
Mon Feb 3, 2020
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Zina Ward
Explaining Individual Differences
Fri Jan 31, 2020
7205 Dwinelle Hall, 4–6 PM
Working Group in Ancient Philosophy
Wolfgang-Rainer Mann (Columbia University)
On First Principles in the Timaeus and Metaphysics Lambda
Fri Jan 31, 2020
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Katharina Pistor (Columbia Law)
Thu Jan 30, 2020
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Jacob Rosen
Reading Aristotle on the Infinite
Fri Jan 24, 2020
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Gina Schouten (Harvard Philosophy)
Thu Jan 23, 2020
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Daniela Dover
The Conversational Self
Thu Dec 12, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Omar Fakhri (UC Berkeley)
Past Moral Disagreement
Fri Dec 6, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Dana Bartosova (University of Florida)
Questions about phase spaces of minimal Boolean flows
Thu Dec 5, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Alex Kerr (UC Berkeley)
Feeling a beat
Fri Nov 22, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Will Kymlicka (Queen's University)
Thu Nov 21, 2019
Alumni Room, Toll House, 4:10–6 PM
Foerster Lectures on the Immortality of the Soul
Jane Taylor (University of the Western Cape)
On Uncertainty: Wittgenstein: Habits of Thought and Thoughts of Habit
Fri Nov 15, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–5:15 PM
Logic Colloquium
Kenny Easwaran (Texas A&M University)
Realism in Mathematics: The Case of the Hyperreals (joint work with Henry Towsner)
Fri Nov 15, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Lisa Garcia Bedolla
Thu Nov 14, 2019
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 5–7 PM
Matthew MacKenzie (Colorado State University)
Dual-Aspect Reflexivism in Buddhist Philosophy of Mind
Thu Nov 14, 2019
234 Moses Hall, 12:30–2 PM
Meaning Sciences Club
Virginia Dawson (UC Berkeley)
Disjunction is not Boolean: novel evidence from Tiwa
Fri Nov 8, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Desmond Jagmohan (Berkeley)
Thu Nov 7, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Agnes Callard (University of Chicago)
Is there such a thing as being good or bad at philosophy?
Fri Nov 1, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Elizabeth Barnes (University of Virginia)
Thu Oct 31, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Russell Ahmed-Buehler (UC Berkeley)
A Logical Account of Confirmation
Fri Oct 25, 2019
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Mark Johnston (Princeton)
Open Discussion
Fri Oct 25, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Francis Fukuyama
Thu Oct 24, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 6. Agamemnon’s Cluelessness: Reason and Eudaimonia
Thu Oct 24, 2019
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Mark Johnston (Princeton)
The Manifest, Lecture 3: Color, Pain and Hallucination Revisited
Wed Oct 23, 2019
148 Moses, 2–4 PM
Townsend Visitor
Mark Johnston (Princeton)
Office Hours
Tue Oct 22, 2019
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Mark Johnston (Princeton)
The Manifest, Lecture 2: A Plea for Expanses
Mon Oct 21, 2019
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Mark Johnston (Princeton)
The Manifest, Lecture 1: A Hundred or so Theses on Perception
Fri Oct 18, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Sebastian Eterovic (Visiting Assistant Prof. of Mathematics)
Categoricity of Shimura Varieties
Fri Oct 18, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Rachel Kranton (Duke University)
Thu Oct 17, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 5. Melos’ Prospects: Rational Domination
Fri Oct 11, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Taeku Lee (Berkeley)
Thu Oct 10, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 4. Cleisthenes’ Wager: Democratic Rationality
Fri Oct 4, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Gabriel Goldberg (NSF Postdoctoral Fellow, UC Berkeley)
Comparison principles and very large cardinals
Fri Oct 4, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Kathryn Abrams (Berkeley)
Thu Oct 3, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 3. Deioces’ Ultimatum: How to Choose a King
Wed Oct 2, 2019
Geballe Room, 220 Stephens Hall, 12–1 PM
Alva Noë (UC Berkeley)
Berkeley Book Chat: Infinite Baseball
Fri Sep 27, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Paula Moya (Stanford)
Thu Sep 26, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 2. Glaucon’s Dilemma: Origins of Social Order
Fri Sep 20, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Julie Suk (CUNY Graduate Center)
Fri Sep 20, 2019
Toll Room, Alumni House, 10 AM–7 PM
Conference
Buddhist Philosophy: The State of the Field
Thu Sep 19, 2019
Maude Fife Room, 315 Wheeler Hall, 7–9 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 1. Gyges’ Choice: Rationality and Visibility
Thu Sep 19, 2019
301 Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Undergraduate Reception / Berkeley Connect Study Break
Thu Sep 19, 2019
234 Moses Hall, 12:30–2 PM
Meaning Sciences Club
Cleo Condoravdi (Stanford)
Ad-nominal epistemic adverbs without hidden structure
Fri Sep 13, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Robert Gooding-Williams (Columbia University)
Thu Sep 12, 2019
Howison Philosophy Library, 4–6 PM
George Myro Memorial Lecture
Ned Hall (Harvard)
Respectful Deflationism
Fri Sep 6, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Antonio Montalban (UC Berkeley)
Transfinite Ramsey Theorem
Fri Sep 6, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Brandon Terry (Harvard University)