Recent Events

Thu May 19, 2022–Fri May 20, 2022
In London
Berkeley London Graduate Conference
Sat May 14, 2022
Faculty Club
4–6 PM
Philosophy Department Commencement
Fri May 6, 2022
60 Evans Hall
4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Johan van Benthem (Stanford University)
Modal Logic of Dependence: the view from below
Thu Apr 28, 2022
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Steve Yablo (MIT)
The Grue and the True
Wed Apr 27, 2022
6–8 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Bret Davis (Loyola University Maryland)
Wed Apr 27, 2022
Toll Room, Alumni House
4–6 PM
Howison Lectures in Philosophy
Steve Yablo (MIT)
Mon Apr 25, 2022
301 Moses
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Line Mikkelsen (UC Berkeley, Linguistics)
Fri Apr 22, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Sophia Moreau (University of Toronto, Law & Philosophy)
Thu Apr 21, 2022
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Quill Kukla (Georgetown University)
Don’t @ me! The Pragmatics of Technologically Mediated Speech
Wed Apr 20, 2022
6–8 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Edward Slingerland (University of British Columbia)
Wed Apr 20, 2022
Law School Room 10
2:10–4 PM
Weinstein Fellow
Sophia Moreau (Toronto)
Seminar
Fri Apr 15, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Johann Frick (UC Berkeley, Philosophy)
Thu Apr 14, 2022
Toll Room, Alumni House
4:10–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Caroline Hoxby (Stanford)
Seminar and Discussion with the commentators
Wed Apr 13, 2022
6–8 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Chris Fraser (University of Toronto)
Wed Apr 13, 2022
Toll Room, Alumni House
4:10–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Caroline Hoxby (Stanford)
Lecture II: Smart Money: Educational Investments in Adolescents Earn Higher Returns
Tue Apr 12, 2022
Toll Room, Alumni House
4:10–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Caroline Hoxby (Stanford)
Lecture I: The Fork in the Road: Adolescence, Education, Economic Fatalism, and Populism
Mon Apr 11, 2022
301 Moses
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Andreja Novakovic (UC Berkeley)
Fri Apr 8, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Amanda Greene (UCL, Philosophy)
Democratic Legitimacy for Sceptics
Wed Apr 6, 2022
6–8 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Carlos Sanchez (San Diego State University)
Fri Apr 1, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Melissa Ann Schwartzberg (NYU, Politics)
Wed Mar 30, 2022
6–8 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Hannah Kim (Macalester College)
Fri Mar 18, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Justin Desautels-Stein (Colorado Law School, Law)
Wed Mar 16, 2022
6–8 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Elisa Freschi (University of Toronto)
Not All That Is Not Prohibited Is Permitted! Permissions in the Mimāmsā School
Wed Mar 16, 2022
4–6 PM
Kadish Lecture
Susan Wolf (UNC Chapel Hill)
Criticizing Blame
Mon Mar 14, 2022
301 Moses
1–2 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Sven Neth (UC Berkeley)
Fri Mar 11, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Paul Gowder (Northwestern Law School, Law)
Wed Mar 9, 2022
6–8 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Amir Jaima (Texas A&M University)
Fri Mar 4, 2022
4:10–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Kate Crawford (USC, Microsoft Research)
Excavating “Ground Truth” in AI: Epistemologies and Politics in Training Data
Fri Mar 4, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Madhav Khosla (Columbia Law School, Law)
Thu Mar 3, 2022
4:10–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Kate Crawford (USC, Microsoft Research)
Excavating “Ground Truth” in AI: Epistemologies and Politics in Training Data
Wed Mar 2, 2022
6–8 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Yasuo Deguchi (Kyoto University)
Fri Feb 25, 2022
1303 Dwinelle
3–4:30 PM
Syntax and Semantics Circle
Márta Abrusán (Institut Jean Nicod)
Varieties of Perspective Shift: Protagonist Projection vs. Free Indirect Discourse
Fri Feb 25, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Duncan Kennedy (Harvard Law School, Jurisprudence)
Wed Feb 23, 2022
6–8 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Leonard Harris (Purdue University)
Fri Feb 18, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Martin Loughlin (LSE Law School, Public Law)
Wed Feb 16, 2022
6–8 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
James Maffie (University of Maryland)
Fri Feb 11, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Keith E. Whittington (Princeton, Politics)
Fri Feb 4, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Lea Ypi (LSE, Political Theory)
Thu Feb 3, 2022
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Samantha Matherne (Harvard University)
Beyond the Either/Or in Aesthetic Life: A New Approach to Aesthetic Universality
Fri Jan 28, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Cary Franklin (UCLA Law School, Law)
Living Textualism
Fri Jan 21, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Jonathan Gould (UC Berkeley Law School, Law)
Puzzles of Progressive Constitutionalism
Fri Jan 14, 2022
141 Law Building
12:15–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Joshua Cohen & David Grewal (UC Berkeley)
Introduction
Fri Dec 3, 2021
4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Thomas Icard (Stanford University)
Interleaving Logic and Counting
Thu Dec 2, 2021
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Greyson Abid (UC Berkeley)
Towards a Two-Factor Theory of the Cross-Race Effect
Mon Nov 22, 2021
12:30–1:30 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Michael Arsenault (UC Berkeley)
Fri Nov 19, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Kenzie Bok (Harvard University)
TBA
Fri Nov 19, 2021
Logic Colloquium
Joel Nagloo (University of Illinois Chicago)
Fri Nov 12, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Josh Cohen (UC Berkeley)
TBA
Fri Nov 5, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Erin Kelly (Tufts University)
TBA
Fri Nov 5, 2021
Logic Colloquium
Snow Zhang (New York University)
Countable Additivity, Conglomerability, and the Continuum Hypothesis
Fri Oct 29, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Teresa Bejan (University of Oxford)
TBA
Thu Oct 28, 2021
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Robert Stalnaker (MIT)
Knowledge and Decision
Wed Oct 27, 2021
YouTube
4–6 PM
Howison Lectures in Philosophy
Robert Stalnaker (MIT)
Counterfactuals, Compatibilism and Rational Choice
Mon Oct 25, 2021
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Seth Yalcin (UC Berkeley)
Fri Oct 22, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Arthur Ripstein (University of Toronto)
TBA
Fri Oct 22, 2021
Logic Colloquium
Adam Bjorndahl (Carnegie Mellon University)
The Epistemology of Nondeterminism
Fri Oct 15, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
T. M. Scanlon (Harvard University)
TBA
Mon Oct 11, 2021
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
James Hutchinson (UC Berkeley)
Fri Oct 8, 2021
Zoom
4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Susanne Bobzien (All Souls, Oxford)
Vagueness: grey areas, context, and viewpoint sensitivity, Lect. 3
Fri Oct 8, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Seana Shiffrin (UCLA Law)
TBA
Wed Oct 6, 2021
Zoom
4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Susanne Bobzien (All Souls, Oxford)
Vagueness: grey areas, context, and viewpoint sensitivity, Lect. 2
Mon Oct 4, 2021
Zoom
4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Susanne Bobzien (All Souls, Oxford)
Vagueness: grey areas, context, and viewpoint sensitivity, Lect. 1
Fri Oct 1, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Tommie Shelby (Harvard University)
TBA