The Dennes Room

Recent Events

Thu Sep 19, 2019
301 Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Undergraduate Reception / Berkeley Connect Study Break
Thu Sep 19, 2019
234 Moses Hall, 12:30–2 PM
Meaning Sciences Club
Cleo Condoravdi (Stanford)
Ad-nominal epistemic adverbs without hidden structure
Fri Sep 13, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Robert Gooding-Williams (Columbia University)
Thu Sep 12, 2019
Howison Philosophy Library, 4–6 PM
George Myro Memorial Lecture
Ned Hall (Harvard)
Respectful Deflationism
Fri Sep 6, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Antonio Montalban (UC Berkeley)
Transfinite Ramsey Theorem
Fri Sep 6, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Brandon Terry (Harvard University)
Sat May 18, 2019
4–6 PM
Philosophy Department Graduation
Wed May 15, 2019
1229 Dwinelle Hall, 3–4:30 PM
Meaning Sciences Club
Polly Jacobson (Brown University, Linguistics)
Direct Compositionality and Variable Free Semantics: The Case of ‘MaxElide’
Fri May 10, 2019–Sat May 11, 2019
Howison Library and 234 Moses Hall, UC Berkeley, 10:30 AM–5 PM
Conference
Berkeley-London Graduate Conference 2019
Wed May 8, 2019
301 Moses, 12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Kirsten Pickering (UC Berkeley)
The Epistemic Challenge Meets the Value Problem
Sat May 4, 2019
9 AM–5:30 PM
Conference
Berkeley-Stanford-Davis Conference
Fri May 3, 2019
202 Barrows Hall, 12–3:15 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Evan Fox-Decent
Jurisprudential Reflections on Cosmopolitan Law
Thu May 2, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Sarah Moss (University of Michigan)
Full Belief and Loose Speech
Wed May 1, 2019
Dennes Room 234 Moses, 6–7:30 PM
Jamie Tappenden (University of Michigan)
Frege, Carl Snell and Romanticism; Fruitful Concepts and the ‘Organic/Mechanical’ Distinction
Wed May 1, 2019
Newton Room, 730 Sutardja Dai Hall, 4–5 PM
Center for Human-Compatible AI Interdisciplinary Insights Seminar
Wes Holliday (UC Berkeley)
New Barriers to Strategic Voting
Fri Apr 26, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4–5 PM
Alfred Tarski Lectures
Thomas Hales (University of Pittsburgh)
Integrating with Logic
Fri Apr 26, 2019
202 Barrows Hall, 12–3:15 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Jeanne Morefield (University of Birmingham)
Global Justice and the Imperial ‘We’: Edward Said on Exilic Subjectivity
Thu Apr 25, 2019
315 Wheeler Hall, 5–7 PM
Timothy Campbell (Cornell University)
Ringrose Lecture: Tragic Power, Comic Self
Thu Apr 25, 2019
301 Moses, 11:30 AM–12:30 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Kristin Primus (UC Berkeley)
TBA
Wed Apr 24, 2019
4 LeConte Hall, 4–5 PM
Alfred Tarski Lectures
Thomas Hales (University of Pittsburgh)
Formalizing mathematics
Mon Apr 22, 2019
4 LeConte Hall, 4–5 PM
Alfred Tarski Lectures
Thomas Hales (University of Pittsburgh)
A formal proof of the Kepler conjecture
Fri Apr 19, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–5:15 PM
Logic Colloquium
Martin Davis (Courant Institute, NYU)
Encounters with infinity
Fri Apr 19, 2019
141 Boalt Hall, 12–3:15 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Adom Getachew (University of Chicago)
Rethinking International Responsibility
Tue Apr 16, 2019
7205 Dwinelle, 5–6:30 PM
Working Group in Ancient Philosophy
Fiona Leigh (University College London)
Knowing Me, Knowing You: Self-Knowledge, Authority, and Dialogue in Early Plato
Mon Apr 15, 2019
202 Barrows Hall, 4:10 PM
Kadish Lecture
Evan Fox-Decent (McGill University)
Jurisprudential Reflections on Cosmopolitan Law
Fri Apr 12, 2019
370 Dwinelle, 5–7 PM
Classics Colloquium
Mark Schiefsky (Harvard University)
Confronting Chance: Models of Medicine in the Hippocratic Corpus
Thu Apr 11, 2019
Toll Room, Alumni House, 4:10–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Arthur Ripstein (University of Toronto)
Seminar and Discussion with Commentators
Wed Apr 10, 2019
Toll Room, Alumni House, 4:10–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Arthur Ripstein (University of Toronto)
Combatants and Civilians
Tue Apr 9, 2019
Toll Room, Alumni House, 4:10–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Arthur Ripstein (University of Toronto)
Rules for Wrongdoers
Mon Apr 8, 2019
Law School Room 141, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Susan James (Birkbeck University of London)
Living in the Light of Our Knowledge: Spinoza on Fortitude
Fri Apr 5, 2019
297 Simon Hall, 12–3 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Quentin Skinner (Queen Mary University of London)
Civil Liberty and Fundamental Rights: A Neo-Roman Approach
Fri Apr 5, 2019–Sat Apr 6, 2019
201 Moses Hall, 9:30 AM–4:50 PM
Conference
Wittgenstein in the 21st Century
Thu Apr 4, 2019
Howison Library, 4 PM
George Myro Memorial Lecture
Karen Bennett (Rutgers University)
Building and Causing Revisited
Wed Apr 3, 2019
301 Moses, 12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Niko Kolodny (UC Berkeley)
TBA
Fri Mar 22, 2019
7205 Dwinelle, 5–7 PM
Working Group in Ancient Philosophy
Suzanne Obdrzalek (Claremont McKenna College)
Plato on Soul-Body Unity
Thu Mar 21, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Elisabeth Camp (Rutgers)
Semantics for Language as a Public Object
Fri Mar 15, 2019
7205 Dwinelle, 5–7 PM
Working Group in Ancient Philosophy
Ben Morison (Princeton University)
Practical and Theoretical Reasoning in Aristotle
Thu Mar 7, 2019
140 Moot Court Room, Boalt Hall, 4–6 PM
Kadish Lecture
Tommie Shelby (Harvard University)
The Uses and Abuses of Incarceration: Dehumanization, Slavery, and Profit
Thu Mar 7, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 12–2 PM
Renaissance and Early Modern Studies
Why Read Descartes’ Meditations?
Wed Mar 6, 2019
470 Stephens, 6–7:30 PM
Working Group in the History and Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Science
Georg Schiemer (University of Vienna)
How Geometry Became Structural
Thu Feb 28, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Luvell Anderson (Syracuse University)
Diversifying Syllabi: Some Considerations
Wed Feb 27, 2019
234 Moses Hall, 6–7:30 PM
Working Group in the History and Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Science
Stewart Shapiro (Ohio State University)
Superplurals, Groups, and Paradox
Thu Feb 21, 2019
301 Moses, 4–6 PM
Undergraduate Reception/Berkeley Connect Study Break
Wed Feb 20, 2019
301 Moses, 12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Amy Rose Deal (UC Berkeley)
TBA
Thu Feb 14, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Philip Kitcher (Columbia University)
Moral Progress
Wed Feb 13, 2019
Alumni House, 4–6 PM
Howison Lectures in Philosophy
Philip Kitcher (Columbia University)
Progress in the Sciences and in the Arts
Fri Feb 8, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–5:15 PM
Logic Colloquium
Szymon Toruńczyk (University of Warsaw)
Some applications of model theory in computer science
Thu Feb 7, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Clinton Tolley (UCSD)
Idealism, Utopia, and Technology: Rethinking the Completion of Kant’s Critical System
Fri Jan 25, 2019
60 Evans, 4:10–5:15 PM
Logic Colloquium
Theodore A. Slaman (UC Berkeley)
Algorithmic and Metric Aspects of Randomness and Approximation