The Dennes Room

Recent Events

Fri Oct 15, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
T. M. Scanlon (Harvard University)
TBA
Mon Oct 11, 2021
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
James Hutchinson (UC Berkeley)
Fri Oct 8, 2021
Zoom, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Susanne Bobzien (All Souls, Oxford)
Vagueness: grey areas, context, and viewpoint sensitivity, Lect. 3
Fri Oct 8, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Seana Shiffrin (UCLA Law)
TBA
Wed Oct 6, 2021
Zoom, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Susanne Bobzien (All Souls, Oxford)
Vagueness: grey areas, context, and viewpoint sensitivity, Lect. 2
Mon Oct 4, 2021
Zoom, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Susanne Bobzien (All Souls, Oxford)
Vagueness: grey areas, context, and viewpoint sensitivity, Lect. 1
Fri Oct 1, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Tommie Shelby (Harvard University)
TBA
Fri Sep 24, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Sarah Song (UC Berkeley)
TBA
Fri Sep 17, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Samuel Freeman (University of Pennsylvania)
TBA
Fri Sep 10, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Samuel Scheffler (New York University)
TBA
Fri Sep 3, 2021
9–11 AM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Thomas Piketty (EHESS & the Paris School of Economics)
TBA
Fri Aug 27, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Lara Buchak (Princeton )
TBA
Tue Apr 27, 2021
4–6 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Dwayne Tunstall (Grand Valley State University)
Fri Apr 23, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
David Estlund (Brown University)
Proceduralism and Structural Injustice: What’s Wrong and What’s Not?
Wed Apr 21, 2021
10 AM–12 PM
Center for Middle Eastern Studies
Carlos Segovia
Paul’s Frequency Spectrum in the Contemporary Philosophical Lab
Tue Apr 20, 2021
4–6 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Harvey Lederman (Princeton University)
Fri Apr 16, 2021
12–2 PM
Michael Dawson (University of Chicago)
TBD
Mon Apr 12, 2021
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Florian Grosser
Forced Migration and the demos: An Arendtian Approach
Fri Apr 9, 2021
4:10–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Marcus Rossberg (University of Connecticut)
An Inferentialist Redundancy Theory of Truth
Fri Apr 9, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Richard Pildes (New York University)
What’s Happening in Democracies Today
Tue Apr 6, 2021
4–6 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Greyson Abid (UC Berkeley)
Sat Apr 3, 2021
11 AM–12:30 PM
Sather Lecture
M.M. McCabe (King's College London)
The Shield and the Cave: Motion and Emotion in Plato’s Republic
Fri Apr 2, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Melissa Lane (Princeton University)
Plato’s Neglected Critiques of a City Like Athens in Republic 8 and 9: The Democratic Cities Nurturing the Four “Representative Men”
Tue Mar 30, 2021
4–6 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Graham Priest (CUNY Graduate Center)
Mon Mar 29, 2021
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Timothy Clarke
Fri Mar 19, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Johnathan Gould (UC Berkeley)
TBD
Tue Mar 16, 2021
4–6 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Nic Bommarito (Simon Fraser University)
Mon Mar 15, 2021
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Hans Sluga
Fri Mar 12, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Aziz Huq (University of Chicago)
The Collapse of Constitutional Remedies
Tue Mar 9, 2021
4–6 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Fenrong Liu (Tsinghua University)
Mon Mar 8, 2021
10:30 AM–12:30 PM
Center for Middle Eastern Studies
Menachem Fisch (Tel Aviv)
Reflexive Emotions and the Politics of Love
Fri Mar 5, 2021
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
James Lindley Wilson (University of Chicago)
Making the All-Affected Principle Safe for Democracy
Tue Mar 2, 2021
4–6 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
James Maffie (University of Maryland)
Mon Mar 1, 2021
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Geoffrey Lee
Tue Feb 23, 2021
4–6 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Lewis Gordon (University of Connecticut)
Mon Feb 22, 2021
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Wesley Holliday
How to Improve Voting
Tue Feb 16, 2021
4–6 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Brian Burkhart (University of Oklahoma)
Thu Feb 11, 2021
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Lidal Dror
Race, Crime and False Consciousness: Ideology and the Need for Emancipatory Theory
Mon Feb 8, 2021
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Veronica Gomez Sanchez
Naturalness by Law
Thu Feb 4, 2021
12–2 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Margaret Hampson
Aristotle on the Nature of Habituation
Fri Jan 29, 2021
Zoom, 4:10–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
James Walsh (Cornell University)
Reducing omega-model reflection to iterated syntactic reflection
Thu Jan 28, 2021
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Snow Zhang
Deference and Disagreement
Mon Jan 25, 2021
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Elise Woodard
Why Double-Check?
Fri Jan 22, 2021
Zoom, 4–6 PM
Renaissance and Early Modern Studies
Sandra Leonie Field (Yale-NUS College)
Renaissance and Early Modern Studies Book Talk: *Potentia: Hobbes and Spinoza on Power and Popular Politics * (Oxford University Press)
Thu Jan 21, 2021
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Christopher Noble
Everything in Nature (and I do mean everything) is in Intellect: Forms and Natural Teleology in Plotinus