The Dennes Room

Recent Events

Thu Dec 12, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Omar Fakhri (UC Berkeley)
Past Moral Disagreement
Fri Dec 6, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Dana Bartosova (University of Florida)
Questions about phase spaces of minimal Boolean flows
Thu Dec 5, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Alex Kerr (UC Berkeley)
Feeling a beat
Fri Nov 22, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Will Kymlicka (Queen's University)
Thu Nov 21, 2019
Alumni Room, Toll House, 4:10–6 PM
Foerster Lectures on the Immortality of the Soul
Jane Taylor (University of the Western Cape)
On Uncertainty: Wittgenstein: Habits of Thought and Thoughts of Habit
Fri Nov 15, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–5:15 PM
Logic Colloquium
Kenny Easwaran (Texas A&M University)
Realism in Mathematics: The Case of the Hyperreals (joint work with Henry Towsner)
Fri Nov 15, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Lisa Garcia Bedolla
Thu Nov 14, 2019
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 5–7 PM
Matthew MacKenzie (Colorado State University)
Dual-Aspect Reflexivism in Buddhist Philosophy of Mind
Thu Nov 14, 2019
234 Moses Hall, 12:30–2 PM
Meaning Sciences Club
Virginia Dawson (UC Berkeley)
Disjunction is not Boolean: novel evidence from Tiwa
Fri Nov 8, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Desmond Jagmohan (Berkeley)
Thu Nov 7, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Agnes Callard (University of Chicago)
Is there such a thing as being good or bad at philosophy?
Fri Nov 1, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Elizabeth Barnes (University of Virginia)
Thu Oct 31, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Russell Ahmed-Buehler (UC Berkeley)
A Logical Account of Confirmation
Fri Oct 25, 2019
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Mark Johnston (Princeton)
Open Discussion
Fri Oct 25, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Francis Fukuyama
Thu Oct 24, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 6. Agamemnon’s Cluelessness: Reason and Eudaimonia
Thu Oct 24, 2019
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Mark Johnston (Princeton)
The Manifest, Lecture 3: Color, Pain and Hallucination Revisited
Wed Oct 23, 2019
148 Moses, 2–4 PM
Townsend Visitor
Mark Johnston (Princeton)
Office Hours
Tue Oct 22, 2019
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Mark Johnston (Princeton)
The Manifest, Lecture 2: A Plea for Expanses
Mon Oct 21, 2019
Howison Library, Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Mark Johnston (Princeton)
The Manifest, Lecture 1: A Hundred or so Theses on Perception
Fri Oct 18, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Sebastian Eterovic (Visiting Assistant Prof. of Mathematics)
Categoricity of Shimura Varieties
Fri Oct 18, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Rachel Kranton (Duke University)
Thu Oct 17, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 5. Melos’ Prospects: Rational Domination
Fri Oct 11, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Taeku Lee (Berkeley)
Thu Oct 10, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 4. Cleisthenes’ Wager: Democratic Rationality
Fri Oct 4, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Gabriel Goldberg (NSF Postdoctoral Fellow, UC Berkeley)
Comparison principles and very large cardinals
Fri Oct 4, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Kathryn Abrams (Berkeley)
Thu Oct 3, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 3. Deioces’ Ultimatum: How to Choose a King
Wed Oct 2, 2019
Geballe Room, 220 Stephens Hall, 12–1 PM
Alva Noë (UC Berkeley)
Berkeley Book Chat: Infinite Baseball
Fri Sep 27, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Paula Moya (Stanford)
Thu Sep 26, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 2. Glaucon’s Dilemma: Origins of Social Order
Fri Sep 20, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Julie Suk (CUNY Graduate Center)
Fri Sep 20, 2019
Toll Room, Alumni House, 10 AM–7 PM
Conference
Buddhist Philosophy: The State of the Field
Thu Sep 19, 2019
Maude Fife Room, 315 Wheeler Hall, 7–9 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 1. Gyges’ Choice: Rationality and Visibility
Thu Sep 19, 2019
301 Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Undergraduate Reception / Berkeley Connect Study Break
Thu Sep 19, 2019
234 Moses Hall, 12:30–2 PM
Meaning Sciences Club
Cleo Condoravdi (Stanford)
Ad-nominal epistemic adverbs without hidden structure
Fri Sep 13, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Robert Gooding-Williams (Columbia University)
Thu Sep 12, 2019
Howison Philosophy Library, 4–6 PM
George Myro Memorial Lecture
Ned Hall (Harvard)
Respectful Deflationism
Fri Sep 6, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Antonio Montalban (UC Berkeley)
Transfinite Ramsey Theorem
Fri Sep 6, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Brandon Terry (Harvard University)
Sat May 18, 2019
4–6 PM
Philosophy Department Graduation
Wed May 15, 2019
1229 Dwinelle Hall, 3–4:30 PM
Meaning Sciences Club
Polly Jacobson (Brown University, Linguistics)
Direct Compositionality and Variable Free Semantics: The Case of ‘MaxElide’
Fri May 10, 2019–Sat May 11, 2019
Howison Library and 234 Moses Hall, UC Berkeley, 10:30 AM–5 PM
Conference
Berkeley-London Graduate Conference 2019
Wed May 8, 2019
301 Moses, 12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Kirsten Pickering (UC Berkeley)
The Epistemic Challenge Meets the Value Problem
Sat May 4, 2019
9 AM–5:30 PM
Conference
Berkeley-Stanford-Davis Conference
Fri May 3, 2019
202 Barrows Hall, 12–3:15 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Evan Fox-Decent
Jurisprudential Reflections on Cosmopolitan Law
Thu May 2, 2019
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Sarah Moss (University of Michigan)
Full Belief and Loose Speech
Wed May 1, 2019
Dennes Room 234 Moses, 6–7:30 PM
Jamie Tappenden (University of Michigan)
Frege, Carl Snell and Romanticism; Fruitful Concepts and the ‘Organic/Mechanical’ Distinction
Wed May 1, 2019
Newton Room, 730 Sutardja Dai Hall, 4–5 PM
Center for Human-Compatible AI Interdisciplinary Insights Seminar
Wes Holliday (UC Berkeley)
New Barriers to Strategic Voting
Fri Apr 26, 2019
60 Evans Hall, 4–5 PM
Alfred Tarski Lectures
Thomas Hales (University of Pittsburgh)
Integrating with Logic
Fri Apr 26, 2019
202 Barrows Hall, 12–3:15 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Jeanne Morefield (University of Birmingham)
Global Justice and the Imperial ‘We’: Edward Said on Exilic Subjectivity
Thu Apr 25, 2019
315 Wheeler Hall, 5–7 PM
Timothy Campbell (Cornell University)
Ringrose Lecture: Tragic Power, Comic Self
Thu Apr 25, 2019
301 Moses, 11:30 AM–12:30 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Kristin Primus (UC Berkeley)
TBA
Wed Apr 24, 2019
4 LeConte Hall, 4–5 PM
Alfred Tarski Lectures
Thomas Hales (University of Pittsburgh)
Formalizing mathematics
Mon Apr 22, 2019
4 LeConte Hall, 4–5 PM
Alfred Tarski Lectures
Thomas Hales (University of Pittsburgh)
A formal proof of the Kepler conjecture