Recent Events

Thu Jan 26, 2023
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Brookes Brown (Clemson University & Wharton School)
TBD
Mon Jan 23, 2023
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Juliana Bidadanure (Stanford University)
TBA
Fri Jan 20, 2023
141 Law Building
12:15–2:15 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Alan Patten (Politics, Princeton University)
Religious Liberty in the Time of Pandemic
Thu Dec 15, 2022
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Michael Arsenault
Aristotle on Misperception
Thu Dec 8, 2022
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Patrick Ryan
Cosmic Topology, Conventionality, and the Constitutive A Priori
Tue Dec 6, 2022–Wed Dec 7, 2022
Howison Library
Conference
Workshop on Probability and Meaning
Fri Dec 2, 2022
60 Evans Hall
4:10–6 PM
Logic Colloquium
Paolo Mancosu (UC Berkeley)
How many points are in a line segment? From Grosseteste to numerosities.
Fri Dec 2, 2022
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Shterna Friedman (Political Theory, Berkeley)
Thu Dec 1, 2022
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Sven Neth
Random Emeralds (postponed to a later date TBD)
Tue Nov 29, 2022
Dwinelle 279
5–7 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Allison Aitken
“Turtles all the Way Down? Madhyamaka Buddhist Anti-foundationalism”
Tue Nov 22, 2022
Dwinelle 279
5–7 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Shay Welch
Indigenous Dance and Democracy
Fri Nov 18, 2022
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Rowan Mellor (University of Toronto)
Joint Ought
Thu Nov 17, 2022
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Briana Toole
Trojan Horse Speech and Coded Discourse
Wed Nov 16, 2022
online
12–1 PM
Townsend Center for the Humanities
Asad Ahmed (UC Berkeley, )
Palimpsests of Themselves: Logic and Commentary in Postclassical Muslim South Asia
Tue Nov 15, 2022
Dwinelle 279
5–7 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Teodros Kiros
The Rationality of the Human Heart: The Philosophy of Zera Yacob
Mon Nov 14, 2022
Dennes Room
4–5:30 PM
Nick Wiltsher (Uppsala University)
Aesthetic selves as objects of interpersonal understanding
Thu Nov 10, 2022
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Mathias Boehm
What We Learn from Indicatives
Tue Nov 8, 2022
Dwinelle 279
5–7 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Jin Y. Park
Women and Buddhist Philosophy: The Case of Kim Iryŏp
Fri Nov 4, 2022
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Khiara Bridges (Law, Berkeley)
Thu Nov 3, 2022
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Shelly Kagan
Death, Deprivation, and Rational Regret
Wed Nov 2, 2022
Kadish Lecture
Philippe van Parijs
Tue Nov 1, 2022
Dwinelle 279
5 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Keya Maitra
Buddhism and Gender
Fri Oct 28, 2022
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
David Estlund (Philosophy, Brown)
Tue Oct 25, 2022
Dwinelle 279
5–7 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Clinton Tolley
Talk TBD on Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz
Fri Oct 21, 2022
Dwinelle 279
5–7 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
William Paris
What was Black Power?: James Boggs and the Making of Rights
Fri Oct 21, 2022
60 Evans Hall
4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Wes Holliday (UC Berkeley)
Subsystems of classical logic and their semantics based on graphs
Fri Oct 21, 2022
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Wendy Salkin (Philosophy, Stanford)
Thu Oct 20, 2022
234 Moses
4:10–6 PM
Cancelled!
Meaning Sciences Club
Judith Degen (Stanford University, Linguistics)
On the role of gradient referential utility and incrementality in cross-linguistic referring expression production
Tue Oct 18, 2022
Dwinelle 279
5–7 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
David Wong
Zhuangzi on Who Should Lead (Within our Selves and Within Society)
Mon Oct 17, 2022–Wed Oct 19, 2022
4–6 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Charles Beitz
Fri Oct 14, 2022
Zoom
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Michael Marmot (UCL)
Tue Oct 11, 2022
Dwinelle 279
5–7 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Carlos Sanchez
TBA
Fri Oct 7, 2022
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Lucas Stanczyk (Philosophy, Harvard)
Thu Oct 6, 2022
Howison Library
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Dilip Ninan (Tufts)
Assertion and the Passage of Time
Tue Oct 4, 2022
Dwinelle 279
5–7 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Eric Schwitzgebel
The Value of Self-Contradiction in Zhuangzi
Fri Sep 30, 2022
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Juliana Bidadanure (Philosophy & Political Science, Stanford)
Tue Sep 27, 2022
Dwinelle 255
5–7 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Andrea Sullivan-Clarke
Strategic Ignorance, is it Indigenous?
Tue Sep 27, 2022
Law 136
10 AM–12 PM
Matthias Armgardt (University of Hamburg)
Leibniz’s Legal Philosophy in Comparison with Hobbes, Spinoza, Locke, and Pufendorf
Fri Sep 23, 2022
60 Evans Hall
4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Branden Fitelson (Northeastern University)
Probabilities of Conditionals and Conditional Probabilities – Revisited
Fri Sep 23, 2022
Room 141, Law Building
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Renée Jorgensen (Philosophy Michigan)
Tue Sep 20, 2022
Dwinelle 255
5–7 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Patrick Anderson
The Phallus and the Ogre V: Eldridge Cleaver and the Methodological Basis for a New Africana Philosophy
Tue Sep 13, 2022
5–7 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Ethan Mills
Vasubandhu’s Twenty Verses: Skepticism Idealism? Both? Neither?
Thu Sep 1, 2022
234 Moses
4–5:30 PM
Meaning Sciences Club
Simon Goldstein (ACU)
KK is wrong because we say so
Sun Aug 28, 2022
Tilden Park
12–4 PM
Department Picnic
Thu May 19, 2022–Fri May 20, 2022
In London
Berkeley London Graduate Conference
Sat May 14, 2022
Faculty Club
4–6 PM
Philosophy Department Commencement
Fri May 6, 2022
60 Evans Hall
4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Johan van Benthem (Stanford University)
Modal Logic of Dependence: the view from below
Thu Apr 28, 2022
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Steve Yablo (MIT)
The Grue and the True
Wed Apr 27, 2022
6–8 PM
Cosmopolitan Philosophy at Berkeley
Bret Davis (Loyola University Maryland)
Wed Apr 27, 2022
Toll Room, Alumni House
4–6 PM
Howison Lectures in Philosophy
Steve Yablo (MIT)