Upcoming Events

Mon Feb 8, 2016
Howison Library — 4 pm
Philosophy Colloquium
Jennifer Marusic (Brandeis University)
Locke on Knowledge and the Grounds of Probability
Thu Feb 11, 2016
Howison Library — 4 pm
Philosophy Colloquium
Kristin Primus (Georgetown University)
The Roles of Inadequate Ideas in Adequate Cognition
Fri Feb 12, 2016
5101 Tolman Hall — 11 am
Institute of Cognitive and Brain Sciences
Tyler Burge (UCLA)
Do Apes and Very Young Children Attribute Mental States
Fri Feb 12, 2016
295 Simon (Warren Room) — 12 pm
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Aziz Rana (Cornell Law)
Fri Feb 19, 2016
202 Barrows Hall — 12 pm
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Tania Lombrozo (Berkeley Psychology)
Fri Feb 26, 2016
5101 Tolman Hall — 11 am
Institute of Cognitive and Brain Sciences
Pete Richerson (UC Davis)
Cumulative Cultural Evolution as Collective Cognition
Fri Feb 26, 2016
202 Barrows Hall — 12 pm
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Brian Leiter (Chicago Law and Philosophy)
Mon Feb 29, 2016
301 Moses — 5 pm
Undergraduate reception
Fri Mar 4, 2016
5101 Tolman Hall — 11 am
Institute of Cognitive and Brain Sciences
Pieter Abbeel (UC Berkeley)
Making Robots Learn
Fri Mar 4, 2016
202 Barrows Hall — 12 pm
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Jason Frank (Cornell Government)
Wed Mar 9, 2016
Howison Library — 4 pm
Howison Lectures in Philosophy
Christine Korsgaard (Harvard University)
“Human Selves and the Good”
Thu Mar 10, 2016
Howison Library — 4 pm
Philosophy Colloquium
Christine Korsgaard (Harvard University)
“Animal Selves and the Good”
Fri Mar 11, 2016
202 Barrows Hall — 12 pm
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Rob Reich (Stanford Political Science)
Sat Mar 12, 2016
Howison Library
Meaning Sciences Workshop
Sun Mar 13, 2016
Howison Library
Meaning Sciences Workshop
Tue Mar 15, 2016
Warren Room, 295 Boalt Hall — 4 pm
Kadish Lecture
Sam Scheffler (NYU)
Membership and Political Obligation
Fri Mar 18, 2016
5101 Tolman Hall — 11 am
Institute of Cognitive and Brain Sciences
Janet Werker (University of British Columbia)
Critical Periods in Speech Perception Development
Fri Mar 18, 2016
202 Barrows Hall — 12 pm
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Pranab Bardhan (Berkeley Economics)
“The State and Economic Development”
Fri Apr 1, 2016
5101 Tolman Hall — 11 am
Institute of Cognitive and Brain Sciences
Poppy Crum (Dolby Laboratories)
TBA
Fri Apr 1, 2016
202 Barrows Hall — 12 pm
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Glenn Loury (Brown U. Economics)
Mon Apr 4, 2016
4:10 pm
Alfred Tarski Lectures
William W. Tait (Professor Emeritus, Department of Philosophy and CHSS, University of Chicago)
TBA
Wed Apr 6, 2016
4:10 pm
Alfred Tarski Lectures
William W. Tait (Professor Emeritus, Department of Philosophy and CHSS, University of Chicago)
TBA
Thu Apr 7, 2016
Howison Library — 4 pm
Philosophy Colloquium
Pamela Hieronymi (UCLA)
Fri Apr 8, 2016
202 Barrows Hall — 12 pm
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Pamela Hieronymi (UCLA Philosophy)
Fri Apr 8, 2016
4:10 pm
Alfred Tarski Lectures
William W. Tait (Professor Emeritus, Department of Philosophy and CHSS, University of Chicago)
TBA
Sat Apr 9, 2016
Moses Hall — 9 am
Berkeley-Stanford-Davis Graduate Conference
Tue Apr 12, 2016
Time/Location TBA
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Didier Fassin (Princeton)
Wed Apr 13, 2016
Time/Location TBA
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Didier Fassin (Princeton)
Thu Apr 14, 2016
Time/Location TBA
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Didier Fassin (Princeton)
Fri Apr 15, 2016
5101 Tolman Hall — 11 am
Institute of Cognitive and Brain Sciences
David Bamman (UC Berkeley)
Quantitative Interpretability
Fri Apr 15, 2016
202 Barrows Hall — 12 pm
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Hélène Landemore (Yale Political Science)
Thu Apr 21, 2016
Howison Library — 4 pm
George Myro Memorial Lecture
Anil Gupta (University of Pittsburgh)
Fri Apr 22, 2016
202 Barrows Hall — 12 pm
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Mark Greenberg (UCLA Law and Philosophy)
Mon Apr 25, 2016
Howison Library
New Crop Event
Ernest Sosa (Rutgers)
New Crop Seminar
Tue Apr 26, 2016
Howison Library — 4 pm
New Crop Event
Ernest Sosa (Rutgers)
New Crop Awards Ceremony
Wed Apr 27, 2016
234 Moses — 6 pm
Working Group in the History and Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Science
Hugh Mellor (University of Cambridge)
“Chance and Determinism”
Thu Apr 28, 2016
4 pm
Philosophy Colloquium
Anton Ford (University of Chicago)
TBA
Fri Apr 29, 2016
5101 Tolman Hall — 11 am
Institute of Cognitive and Brain Sciences
Scott Kelso (Florida Atlantic University)
TBA
Fri Apr 29, 2016
202 Barrows Hall — 12 pm
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Final meeting for enrolled students
Wed May 4, 2016
6 pm
Working Group in the History and Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Science
Alexei Grinbaum (LARSIM, Gif-sur-Yvette )
Fri May 6, 2016
5101 Tolman Hall — 11 am
Institute of Cognitive and Brain Sciences
Emma Brunskill (Carnegie Mellon University)
TBA
Sun May 15, 2016
Faculty Glade — 11 am
Philosophy Department Graduation
Mon Sep 19, 2016
Howison Library — 4 pm
Townsend Visitor
Robert Pippin (University of Chicago)
TBA
Tue Sep 20, 2016
Howison Library — 4 pm
Townsend Visitor
Robert Pippin (University of Chicago)
TBA
Thu Sep 22, 2016
Howison Library — 4 pm
Townsend Visitor
Robert Pippin (University of Chicago)
TBA
Fri Sep 23, 2016
Howison Library — 4 pm
Townsend Visitor
Robert Pippin (University of Chicago)
Q&A Session
Mon Oct 9, 2017
Howison Library — 4 pm
Townsend Visitor
Tim Maudlin (NYU)
TBA
Tue Oct 10, 2017
Howison Library — 4 pm
Townsend Visitor
Tim Maudlin (NYU)
TBA
Thu Oct 12, 2017
Howison Library
Townsend Visitor
Tim Maudlin (NYU)
TBA
Fri Oct 13, 2017
Howison Library
Townsend Visitor
Tim Maudlin (NYU)
Q&A Session

Download all upcoming events in ICS (iCalendar) format