The Dennes Room

Upcoming Events

Fri Sep 6, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Brandon Terry (Harvard University)
Thu Sep 12, 2019
4–6 PM
George Myro Memorial Lecture
Ned Hall (Harvard)
Fri Sep 13, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Robert Gooding-Williams (Columbia University)
Thu Sep 19, 2019
301 Moses Hall, 4–6 PM
Undergraduate Reception / Berkeley Connect Study Break
Thu Sep 19, 2019
Maude Fife Room, 315 Wheeler Hall, 7–9 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 1. Gyges’ Choice: Rationality and Visibility
Fri Sep 20, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Julie Suk (CUNY Graduate Center)
Thu Sep 26, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 2. Glaucon’s Dilemma: Origins of Social Order
Fri Sep 27, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Paula Moya (Stanford)
Thu Oct 3, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 3. Deioces’ Ultimatum: How to Choose a King
Fri Oct 4, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Kathryn Abrams (Berkeley)
Thu Oct 10, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 4. Cleisthenes’ Wager: Democratic Rationality
Fri Oct 11, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Taeku Lee (Berkeley)
Thu Oct 17, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 5. Melos’ Prospects: Rational Domination
Fri Oct 18, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Rachel Kranton (Duke University)
Mon Oct 21, 2019–Fri Oct 25, 2019
Townsend Visitor
Mark Johnston (Princeton)
A Plea for Expanses
Thu Oct 24, 2019
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5:30–7:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Josiah Ober (Stanford)
Lecture 6. Agamemnon’s Cluelessness: Reason and Eudaimonia
Fri Oct 25, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Francis Fukuyama
Fri Nov 1, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Elizabeth Barnes (University of Virginia)
Thu Nov 7, 2019
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Agnes Callard (University of Chicago)
Fri Nov 8, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Desmond Jagmohan (Berkeley)
Fri Nov 15, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Lisa Garcia Bedolla
Fri Nov 22, 2019
141 Boalt, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Will Kymlicka (Queen's University)
Thu Feb 13, 2020
4–6 PM
Kadish Lecture
Anthony Duff
Mon Mar 16, 2020–Fri Mar 20, 2020
Weinstein Fellow
Sophia Moreau (University of Toronto)
Wed Mar 18, 2020
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5–7 PM
Working Group in Ancient Philosophy
André Laks (Paris-Sorbonne)
TBD
Thu Apr 2, 2020
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Gillian Russell (UNC-Chapel Hill)
Mon Apr 13, 2020–Fri Apr 17, 2020
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Caroline Hoxby (Stanford)
Wed Apr 22, 2020
Alumni Room, Toll House, 4–6 PM
Howison Lectures in Philosophy
Steve Yablo (MIT)
Thu Apr 23, 2020
4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Steve Yablo (MIT)
Sat May 16, 2020
4 PM
Philosophy Department Commencement
Mon Oct 5, 2020
4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Susanne Bobzien (All Souls, Oxford)
Lecture or Seminar 1
Wed Oct 7, 2020
4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Susanne Bobzien (All Souls, Oxford)
Lecture or Seminar 2
Fri Oct 9, 2020
4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Susanne Bobzien (All Souls, Oxford)
Lecture or Seminar 3
Sat Oct 10, 2020
Townsend Visitor
Susanne Bobzien (All Souls, Oxford)
Office hours

You can add the Philosophy Events calendar to bCal by clicking the down-arrow by "Other calendars", selecting "Add by URL", and entering the URL http://philosophy.berkeley.edu/events/ical.

You can also sign up to receive event announcements by email.