Philosophy 290-7

Spring 2021

Number Title Instructor Days/time Room
290-7 Graduate Seminar: Workshop in Law, Philosophy & Political Theory Cohen/Gould F 12-3 TBA

This course is a workshop for discussing works in progress in moral, political, and legal theory. The workshop creates a space for students to engage directly with philosophers, political theorists, and legal scholars working on normative questions toward the goal of fostering critical thinking about concepts of value and developing analytical thinking and writing skills. Another aim is to bring together people from different disciplines and perspectives who have strong normative interests or who speak to issues philosophers and theorists should know something about.

For Spring 2021, the workshop will focus on the theme of democracy.

The schedule of guest speakers is included below.

The format of the course is as follows. For the sessions with guest presenter, we’ll begin at 12:00. A designated commentator will lead off with a 15-minute comment on the paper. The presenter will have 5-10 minutes to respond and then we will open up the discussion to the group. The first part of the course will be open to non-enrolled students, faculty, and visitors who wish to participate in the workshop discussion. We’ll stop for a break at 2 and those not enrolled in the course will leave. Enrolled students will continue the discussion with the guest from 2:10 to 3:00.

This is a shared seating course between the Law School (Law 210.2B), the Philosophy Department (Philosophy 290-6), and the Political Science Department (PS 211).

Speaker schedule:

January 22 – Michael Hanchard (UPenn Africana Studies)

January 29 – Nadia Urbinati (Columbia Political Science)

February 5 – Eric Schickler & Paul Pierson (Berkeley Political Science)

February 12 – Daniela Cammack (Berkeley Political Science)

February 19 – Hélène Landemore (Yale Political Science)

February 26 – Lawrie Balfour (Virginia Politics)

March 5 – Niko Kolodny (Berkeley Philosophy)

March 12 – Aziz Huq (UChicago Law)

March 19 – Jonathan Gould (Berkeley Law)

April 2 – Melissa Lane (Princeton Politics)

April 9 – Richard Pildes (NYU Law)

April 16 – Michael Dawson (UChicago Political Science)

April 23 – David Estlund (Brown Philosophy)

April 30 – Closing session (enrolled students only)