Recent Events

Sat May 12, 2018
Faculty Glade, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Department Graduation
Fri Apr 27, 2018
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Vaughan Pratt (Stanford University)
The Class CAT of Locally Small Categories as a Functor-Free Framework for Foundations and Philosophy
Fri Apr 27, 2018
145 Boalt Hall , 12–3:15 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Bertrall Ross (University of California, Berkeley)
Selections from Gerrymandering Harms
Thu Apr 26, 2018
Howison Library , 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Laura Franklin-Hall (NYU)
The Animal Sexes as Queer Kinds
Fri Apr 20, 2018
1303 Dwinelle Hall, 3–4:30 PM
Meaning Sciences Club
Ethan Jerzak (UC Berkeley)
Two Ways to Want
Fri Apr 20, 2018
141 Boalt Hall, 12–3:15 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Meena Krishnamurthy (University of Michigan)
White Blindness
Thu Apr 19, 2018
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
George Myro Memorial Lecture
Ian Rumfitt (All Souls College, Oxford)
THIS EVENT HAS BEEN CANCELLED.
Fri Apr 13, 2018
7205 Dwinelle, 5–7 PM
Working Group in Ancient Philosophy
Mi-Kyoung Lee (University of Colorado, Boulder)
Aristotle’s Concept of Right Action
Fri Apr 13, 2018
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Carlos Eduardo Areces (Universidad Nacional de Córdoba)
Henkin Completeness in Modal Logic
Fri Apr 13, 2018
1303 Dwinelle Hall, 3–4:30 PM
Meaning Sciences Club
Amy Rose Deal (UC Berkeley)
Compositional paths to de re
Fri Apr 13, 2018
141 Boalt Hall , 12–3:15 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
George Borjas (Harvard University)
What Does Immigration Economics Imply about Immigration Policy?
Thu Apr 12, 2018
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
John Hawthorne (USC)
The Surprise Examination
Wed Apr 11, 2018
234 Moses Hall, 6–7:30 PM
Working Group in the History and Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Science
Hanti Lin (UC Davis)
Modes of Convergence to the Truth: Steps toward a Better Epistemology of Induction
Fri Apr 6, 2018
141 Boalt Hall , 12–3:15 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Daniel Viehoff (NYU)
Power and Equality
Wed Apr 4, 2018
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Austin Andrews
Mon Apr 2, 2018
308A Doe Library, 4–6 PM
Classics Colloquium
Gábor Betegh (Cambridge)
Imagining the City: Magnesia and Brasilia
Sun Mar 25, 2018
Toll Room, Alumni House, 9:30 AM–12:30 PM
Conceptuality and Nonconceptuality in Buddhist Philosophy Workshop
Sat Mar 24, 2018
Toll Room, Alumni House, 9:30 AM–6 PM
Conceptuality and Nonconceptuality in Buddhist Philosophy Workshop
Fri Mar 23, 2018
60 Evans , 4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Nam Trang (University of Califorina, Irvine)
Forcing, elementary embeddings, and determinacy
Fri Mar 23, 2018
Toll Room, Alumni House, 4–7 PM
Conceptuality and Nonconceptuality in Buddhist Philosophy Workshop
Fri Mar 23, 2018
141 Boalt Hall, 12–3:15 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Alvin Goldman (Rutgers University)
Free Speech, Fake News, and Democracy
Thu Mar 22, 2018
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5–7 PM
Evan Thompson (University of British Columbia)
Ambiguity, Paradox, Dialetheism, Quietism
Thu Mar 22, 2018
Toll Room, Alumni House, 4:10–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Michael Warner (Yale University)
Seminar and Discussion with the commentators
Wed Mar 21, 2018
Toll Room, Alumni House, 4:10–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Michael Warner (Yale University)
Infrastructure as Ethics
Wed Mar 21, 2018
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Kwong-loi Shun
Tue Mar 20, 2018
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5–7 PM
Evan Thompson (University of British Columbia)
Yogācāra: Mind and World
Tue Mar 20, 2018
Toll Room, Alumni House, 4:10–6:15 PM
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
Michael Warner (Yale University)
On the Grid
Fri Mar 16, 2018
202 Barrows Hall , 12–3 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Gabriel Lenz (University of California, Berkeley)
TBA
Thu Mar 15, 2018
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5–7 PM
Evan Thompson (University of British Columbia)
Epistemology: Madhyamaka Versus Nyāya
Thu Mar 15, 2018
126 Barrows, 4–5 PM
Alfred Tarski Lectures
Hugh Woodin (Harvard University)
The Ultimate L Conjecture
Wed Mar 14, 2018
234 Moses, 6–7:30 PM
Working Group in the History and Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Science
Alan Hajek (ANU)
Most Counterfactuals Are Still False
Wed Mar 14, 2018
Toll Room, Alumni House, 5 PM
Evan Thompson (University of British Columbia)
Meditation and Nonconceptual Awareness Perspectives from Buddhist Philosophy and Cognitive Science
Wed Mar 14, 2018
Room I, LeConte Hall, 4–5 PM
Alfred Tarski Lectures
Hugh Woodin (Harvard University)
The HOD Dichotomy
Wed Mar 14, 2018
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
R. Jay Wallace
Tue Mar 13, 2018
370 Dwinelle Hall, 5–7 PM
Evan Thompson (University of British Columbia)
Madhyamaka Versus Realism: Setting up the Debate
Tue Mar 13, 2018
Room I, LeConte Hall, 4–5 PM
Alfred Tarski Lectures
Hugh Woodin (Harvard University)
Ultimate L
Fri Mar 9, 2018
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Ray Briggs (Stanford University)
Real-Life Newcomb Problems
Wed Mar 7, 2018
7205 Dwinelle, 6–7:30 PM
Working Group in Ancient Philosophy
Pierre Destrée (University of Louvain)
Catharsis as Free Reign
Wed Mar 7, 2018
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Nicholas Gooding
Fri Mar 2, 2018
202 Barrows Hall , 12–3 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Paul Pierson (University of California, Berkeley)
TBA
Thu Mar 1, 2018
Alumni House, 5:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Maurizio Bettini (University of Siena)
Ferdinand de Saussure and the Phonic Harmony of Archaic Latin Poetry
Thu Mar 1, 2018
301 Moses, 4–6 PM
Undergraduate Reception/Berkeley Connect Study Break
Fri Feb 23, 2018
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Douglas Marshall (Carleton College)
An Approach to Two Puzzles Concerning the Applicability of Mathematics
Fri Feb 23, 2018
202 Barrows Hall , 12–3 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Alex Guerrero (Rutgers University)
TBA
Thu Feb 22, 2018
370 Dwinelle, 5:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Maurizio Bettini (University of Siena)
Fas: A Law with No Gods
Wed Feb 21, 2018
12–1 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Hannah Ginsborg
Fri Feb 16, 2018
202 Barrows Hall , 12–3 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Josiah Ober (Stanford University)
TBA
Thu Feb 15, 2018
370 Dwinelle, 5:30 PM
Sather Lecture
Maurizio Bettini (University of Siena)
Fatum: Destiny in Greece and in Rome
Fri Feb 9, 2018
202 Barrows Hall , 12–3 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Richard Brooks (Columbia University )
TBA
Thu Feb 8, 2018
Maude Fife Room, Wheeler Hall, 8 PM
Sather Lecture
Maurizio Bettini (University of Siena)
Memory and the Ear
Wed Feb 7, 2018
301 Moses, 6–8 PM
Philosophy Honors Program/Grad School Infosession (MAP)
Fri Feb 2, 2018
202 Barrows Hall , 12–3 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Emilee Chapman (Stanford University)
TBA
Fri Jan 26, 2018
7205 Dwinelle Hall, 5–7 PM
Working Group in Ancient Philosophy
Voula Tsouna (UC Santa Barbara)
Virtue and the Technê Analogy in Plato’s Charmides
Fri Jan 26, 2018
60 Evans Hall, 4–5:30 PM
Logic Colloquium
John MacFarlane (UC Berkeley)
Is Logic a Normative Discipline?
Fri Jan 26, 2018
202 Barrows Hall , 12–3 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Charles Beitz (Princeton University)
TBA
Thu Jan 25, 2018
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Laura Ruetsche (University of Michigan)
Perturbing Realism
Mon Jan 22, 2018
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Andreja Novakovic (U.C. Riverside)
Hegel on Passion in History
Fri Jan 19, 2018
202 Barrows Hall , 12–3 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Joshua Cohen and Niko Kolodny (UC Berkeley)
Introductory Meeting with Joshua Cohen and Niko Kolodny (for enrolled students only)
Thu Dec 7, 2017
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Ethan Jerzak
Paradoxical Desires
Tue Dec 5, 2017
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Antonia Peacocke
Mental Action in Self-Knowledge
Fri Dec 1, 2017
4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Marianna Antonutti (LMU Munich)
What is ordinary mathematics?
Thu Nov 30, 2017
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Alexander (Arc) Kocurek
Counterfactuals and Contingent Identity
Fri Nov 17, 2017
4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Wesley H. Holliday (UC Berkeley)
Possibilities for Boolean, Heyting, and modal algebras
Fri Nov 17, 2017
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Leti Volpp (U.C. Berkeley Law)
TBA
Thu Nov 16, 2017
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Graduate Research Colloquium
Jeffrey Kaplan
How to Make a Rule: A Defense of a Supposedly Refuted Theory
Thu Nov 9, 2017
301 Moses, 12:30–1:30 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Katharina Kaiser, Florian Grosser
Heidegger on ‘Being-with’ and Alterity
Fri Nov 3, 2017
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Lenore Blum (Carnegie Mellon University)
Alan Turing and the Other Theory of Computation
Fri Nov 3, 2017
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Cristina Rodriguez (Yale Law)
TBA
Fri Oct 27, 2017
Moses 234, 4–6 PM
Working Group in Ancient Philosophy
Sean Kelsey (Notre Dame)
Essence and Insight
Fri Oct 27, 2017
Room 141, Law School, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
David Martin (University of Virginia Law)
What Makes Migration Control Morally Legitimate?
Thu Oct 26, 2017
301 Moses, 12:30–1:30 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Alvin Goldman
Free Speech, Fake News, and Democracy
Wed Oct 25, 2017
234 Moses, 6–7:30 PM
Working Group in the History and Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Science
Robert May (UC Davis)
Sense
Fri Oct 20, 2017
60 Evans Hall, 4:10–5:15 PM
Logic Colloquium
Thomas Icard (Stanford University)
Some Philosophical Uses of Randomized Computation
Fri Oct 20, 2017
Room 141, Law School, 12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Rogers Smith (Univ. of Pennsylvania Political Science )
A Progressive Case for Accommodating Religious Conservatives
Thu Oct 19, 2017
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Philosophy Colloquium
Christia Mercer (Columbia University)
Descartes’ Demons and Debts, or, The Importance of Studying Women in the History of Philosophy
Fri Oct 13, 2017
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Tim Maudlin (NYU)
Q&A Session
Fri Oct 13, 2017
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Katerina Linos (U.C. Berkeley Law)
TBA
Thu Oct 12, 2017
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Tim Maudlin (NYU)
Mathematics and Ontology: Lift and Drop
Wed Oct 11, 2017
302 Moses, 3–5 PM
Tim Maudlin (NYU)
Office hours
Tue Oct 10, 2017
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Tim Maudlin (NYU)
An Explosion of Possibilities
Mon Oct 9, 2017
Howison Library, 4–6 PM
Townsend Visitor
Tim Maudlin (NYU)
The Mathematics and Ontology of Classical Electro-Magnetic Theory
Fri Oct 6, 2017
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Sungmoon Kim (Univ. of Hong Kong Political Science)
TBA
Thu Oct 5, 2017
301 Moses, 12:30–1:30 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Laura and Francois Schroeter
WIP
Wed Oct 4, 2017
234 Moses Hall, 6–7:30 PM
Working Group in the History and Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Science
Barry Loewer (Rutgers University)
Perfectly Natural Properties and the Best System Accounts of Laws
Fri Sep 29, 2017
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Irene Bloemraad (U.C. Berkeley Sociology)
TBA
Tue Sep 26, 2017
7205 Dwinelle, 5–7 PM
Working Group in Ancient Philosophy
Shinro Kato (Tokyo Metropolitan University)
Toward the Unity of Plato’s Statesman
Fri Sep 22, 2017
60 Evan Hall, 4:10–5 PM
Logic Colloquium
Nadja Hempel (UCLA)
Mekler construction in generalized stability
Fri Sep 22, 2017
Howison Library, 3–4:30 PM
Workshop on inclusive teaching
Fri Sep 22, 2017
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Kamal Sadiq (U.C. Irvine Political Science )
TBA
Thu Sep 21, 2017
4–6 PM
Undergraduate reception/study break
Thu Sep 21, 2017
301 Moses, 12:30–1:30 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Holly Smith
WIP
Wed Sep 20, 2017
234 Moses Hall, 6–7:30 PM
Working Group in the History and Philosophy of Logic, Mathematics, and Science
Douglas Marshall (Carleton College)
Impurity of Methods: Finite Geometry in the Early Twentieth Century
Tue Sep 19, 2017
Tilden Room, MLK Student Union, 1–5 PM
Conference
Spatial Experience
Mon Sep 18, 2017
Tilden Room, MLK Student Union, 9:45 AM–5 PM
Conference
Spatial Experience
Fri Sep 15, 2017
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Annie Stilz (Princeton Politics)
TBA
Fri Sep 8, 2017
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Joseph Carens (University of Toronto Political Science )
TBA
Fri Sep 8, 2017
223 Moses Hall, 9:30 AM–6 PM
Conference
What Now? Political Thought at a Moment of Crisis
Thu Sep 7, 2017
301 Moses, 12:30–1:30 PM
Work in Progress Talk
Tania Lombrozo
WIP
Thu Sep 7, 2017
223 Moses Hall, 9:30 AM–5 PM
Conference
What Now? Political Thought at a Moment of Crisis
Sat Sep 2, 2017
Dwinelle Annex Seminar Room, 1–6 PM
Workshop on Color and Coloring
Fri Sep 1, 2017
12–2 PM
Workshop in Law, Philosophy, and Political Theory
Michael Clemens (Center for Global Development)
TBA
Thu Aug 24, 2017
234 Moses, 12–1 PM
Meaning Sciences Club
Daniel Rothschild (University College London)
Probabilistic Context Updates